In the early days, a trip to the cemetery was a special occasion. Arriving at the gates, the visitors would park their carriages at the entrance and walk down to their lots.
The lots were surrounded by granite corner posts with chains to preserve their privacy and to prevent people from walking on the graves. Some of the lot owners installed wrought-iron benches on their lots. The families would often spend considerable time at their family gravesite before returning to the city.
Purchase of lots
When a client would come to buy a lot in the cemetery the superintendent would walk through the grounds with the client and they would choose the lot together. Later they would go back to the office and enter the location of the chosen lot on the cemetery plans.
After that, the superintendent would draw up a title deed, which was later signed by the president of the cemetery, a director and the superintendent.
Rules and Regulations
The rules of conduct while on the cemetery grounds were to be followed by visitors and lot owners. These rules were in place to make sure that the sanctity of the cemetery grounds was respected at all times. The rules and regulations sign is located just inside the front entrance of the cemetery, so visitors can read the rules upon entering.
The James Copeman Advertising Company made this sign in 1851. It was built from red cedar. During the winter months, the sign was stored in the barn. When Brian Treggett was younger, his father Harold would hire him to repaint the letters on this sign with special black paint.
Cemetery regulations restricted access on Sunday morning to lot owners and for relatives of the deceased. The superintendent was strict with these rules of conduct while on the grounds.